Unit 3 Research.

I was given the age range of 15 and chose the film Blade Runner 2049 within that age range, I chose this film because I enjoy the series and think the film is great I also know the audience for a sci-fi film like this, its also a difficult film with how long the film is and the many locations and actors used during the film so cramming this film into a trailer will be a real challenge.

Blade Runner 2049' Review: An Overlong, Underwhelming Sequel

Primary research.

Gender.

From this I understand that both woman and men are equally interested to go to the cinema to watch sci-fi film meaning my trailer can be aimed at both genders, so my trailer will have a mix of action and story.

What age are you?

From this information I now know the exact age group my trailer and poster will be aimed at this being 18-60 so within this age group I will have fans of the original Bladerunner and the modern sequel, from this i will show some homage to the original well also showing new and improved bits of the film, by doing this I grab the attention of the full age range I am aimed at.

Your favourite genre?

I now know the biggest genre from this survey is sci-fi so knowing this I will stick more stuff to do with this genre within my trailer.

How do you consume media?

From this i can see that streaming services have a much higher interest than the cinema , Meaning my biggest sales and viewership would be from streaming services like Netflix and amazon over my local cinema.

What mostly interests you in film?

By knowing this information I make the trailer more to watch the audience prefers by showing the featured actors and the directors name at the beginning but waiting until the very end of the trailer to show the biggest actor, This also shows you could just sell the tickets because of the genre it is in.

Who do you mostly consume media with?

How often do you view films in the cinema?

From this i could find the biggest month for cinema sales from my secondary research and release to trailer aimed for that month.

Would a production studio persuade you to watch a film?

This gives me the information knowing that 100% of the people on this survey would watch a film a film from a production studio they like, so from the information I know to put the the studios name as the opening sequence of the trailer by doing this I guarantee the seats from the people who would watch the film because of the studio.

Are you more likely to watch a film in the cinema because of a trailer?

From this i know that there is still a big audience for people to go to the cinema to watch there films instead of streaming services.

Where do you mostly find film trailers?

From this I now know to post my trailer on social media and YouTube because its most likely the best place to grab fans and new people.

Sam and I made this survey using survey monkey we used this to create our survey because of the simple layout given and it made it easier to get the answers we wanted, The biggest reason we chose survey monkey was its fast and easy to make surveys and the professional look it has, it also lets you split up the answers to give the ones that best help you.

Secondary Research.

The film i have been given for my project is Blade Runner 2049, the film is a sequel to a sci-fi classic of the same name, I think this is a perfect film for me to do because of the complex story and great action scenes which will really push me and improve my editing and research its also a film series i really enjoy so the information and plot is or ready known to me.

The original blade runner was a flop in cinema but become a cult classic which led to the sequel, the original changed the sci-fi genre forever by doing adding a dark noire look and making a realistic Los Angeles, from the original the sequel improved and changed in every way by making it feel similar yet different they achieved this by showing off the updated CGI of Los Angeles and also taking big chunks of the film outside the city in the Barron wasteland that was America which was shown much in the original.

I thought Blade Runner was boring until I moved to Los Angeles | by Matt  Fried | Medium

Trailer research.

This link tells me that the film was to slow paced for the younger generation and only really attracted the attention of the fans of the original and because of this the film was a box office failure so from this information I could change the age range to 25-50 instead of 15-50. by knowing this I can change my trailer to be more up beat and fast paced to gain the attention of the 15-20 age range, but the issue with this is losing the plot and not adding to much dialogue which could possibly anger the original fans and make it look more like a box office action film then a sci-fi epic.

https://www.andrewjly.com/blog/2017/12/1/blade-runner-2049-the-complete-comprehensive-critical-analysis

This website dissects and analysis the film I have chose so from this I can know all the little details and big plot points to decide how I can structure my trailer, so from this trailer I think I will start with officer K (Ryan Gosling) in his normal boring life until the point it all breaks and starts the adventure of finding out if he’s a replicant or not, This website also brings up that this film has the same structure as films like Harry Potter or Star Wars where theres a structure of the chosen one but the difference to them films are Officer K can die and the film and story would carry on unlike Harry Potter or Star Wars. The biggest problem with this structure is showing to much of the actually film and not leaving much to mystery.

https://coil.com/p/Adam_W_Parker/A-Story-s-Structure-Blade-Runner-2049/fxcDdMZ-1

From this website i have information and break downs of each scene within the film it also gives me the length of each scene so i can use the length and breakdown of each scene within this website to help me create my trailer, it also goes into detail with different ways the director uses pace to create tension within certain scenes, it also talks about how a film can bore its audience with certain tempo and pace with ways i an use in my trailer to avoid this.

So from the websites I have research I have learned these:

  • Structure.
  • Story beats and the film scene by scene.
  • Pace.
  • Best age group.

Structure.

From the information I gained looking through the websites I have figured out the best structure to use for my trailer, I will be starting with K’s normal boring life as a blade runner to show how quick life and go good to bad in universe of blade runner, from there I will show smalls scenes of what happens and how his life changed, Then show fast paced action and small story bits to keep the younger age group happy well also showing small story bits and small bits of the actors speaking about the story to hint at what the films about and what could be next by doing this I keep both younger and older generations happy but to get the old fans back I will also show Harrison ford at the end of the trailer to create a sort of hype and shock value to the trailer.

Story beats and film scenes.

For this will use quick cuts with loads of scenes showing the action for the film well also showing the great cinematography for used throughout the film to do this I will watch the film with friends and pick the scenes that get a reaction from them by doing this I can create a trailer that would best get the reaction I want out of the audience watching.

Pace.

The pace will start of slow introducing the new main character (Officer K) to the new and old audience who would most likely be looking for Harrison fords old character from the original its also a good chance to introduce the old audience to the new updated look for the city and the wastelands used throught the film, then after the introduction I will show fast paced actions scenes with small hints of dialogue that will show what the story of the film is about and end it with a slow introduction to Harrison Fords character.

Best age group.

From the research and the primary research I will choose the age group 20-50 I chose this age range because of the slow pace of the film which someone younger wouldn’t really enjoy and the primary research done tells me most people, who enjoy science-fiction are between 18-60.

Poster research.

https://www.webdesignerdepot.com/2011/02/7-elements-of-a-great-movie-poster-design/

From this website I have learnt the 7 points of what creates a great poster:

  • Attention- Jump out from the wall.
  • Iconography- without telling.
  • Interest- Create an incentive to see the film.
  • Appeal- Create desire with fans and non fans.
  • Style- A look thats consistent with the film.
  • Recognizabilty- If its a sequel make it obvious.

Attention– for the attention I could have the biggest actors in film on the front and have one of the amazing shots used during the film as the background by doing this I can show off the amazing cinematography of the film and grab the attention of the fans of Harrison ford and the fans of Ryan Gosling.

Iconography- For this one I can give little hints from the film like the cityscape in the background or Officer K’s holographic girlfriend by doing this I will show extra tithings well also looking at the poster and knowing its BladeRunner.

Interest- I could use a scene from the poster so when the viewer sees it they will have to watch the film to know how the actor got to the that situation.

Appeal- By using the best actors in the film I can create an appeal for the fans of the actors from the first film and also using Ryan Gosling will introduce his fans to the franchise.

Style- By making the poster orange and light I will be creating a poster in line with the film because the film is bright full and full of colour.

Recognisability By using the same Text and similar formats with bright colours I could create a poster that feels reminiscent of the original well also improving on then old design.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started